Dedicated to Improving the Lives of Blind and Visually Impaired People

Audio Description Awards 2022

by Daniel Parker, RDPFS Intern

The American Council of the Blind (ACB) held its second annual Audio Description Awards Gala on November 30, 2022. ACB’s Audio Description Awards Committee selected the honorees, recognizing them as “audio description content leaders and media industry game changers.” Eric Bridges, Executive Director of ACB, stated, “’We are proud to host the second annual Audio Description Awards Gala to recognize excellence in audio described content and celebrate the growing commitment to accessible media for people who are blind and (have) low vision.’” The eight awards winners included Microsoft, the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, Telemundo/Hearst, DisneyPlus/Lucasfilm/Audio Description By Deluxe, Paramount Global, Larry Goldberg and the Described and Captioned Media Program. The Gala was hosted by audio description narrator Thomas Reid and special guests included Stevie Wonder and actors Ewan McGregor, Nesta Cooper, Shayla Brown, Camryn Manheim, and the cast of the TV sitcom ICarly. ACB President Dan Spoone closed the event by thanking the sponsors, which included Silver Star Sponsors Amazon, Disney, Microsoft, Paramount Global, Warner Bros. Discovery and Bronze Star Sponsors Charter Spectrum, Keyword Studios, Fox, as well as the National Association of Broadcasters. You can find more details about the event in the ACB’s press release on the 2022 Audio Description Awards.